My Journey

Follow me on my journey to be the best me possible

Coconut Oil Deodorant March 4, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — healthylivingamysway @ 2:35 am

So last week I decided to try making my own deodorant.  I was more than a little nervous because I didn’t want to walk around smelling like old gym socks, but wanted to give it a try.  One of the reasons I felt like experimenting is because there is a link between breast cancer and the estrogenic ingredients found in most deodorants.  According to Livestrong, “Estrogenic compounds have the ability to trigger some of the same effects as the body’s own hormone estrogen. One of estrogen’s roles in the body is to promote the growth of breast tissue, so an excess might lead to cancerous overgrowth.” (http://www.livestrong.com/article/224770-health-dangers-of-underarm-deodorants/) Since breast cancer runs in my family, it doesn’t hurt to take preventative measures.

I found a recipe on The Prairie Homestead’s blog.  (http://www.theprairiehomestead.com/2012/12/diy-coconut-oil-deodorant.html)

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup baking soda
  • 1/4 cup arrowroot powder
  • 4 tablespoons cornstarch – (antiperspirant)
  • essential oils (optional)

Instructions:

  • Mix baking soda, cornstarch, and arrowroot powder in a bowl.
  • Add coconut oil and use a fork or pastry cutter to blend into the dry ingredients.
  • Add 5-10 drops of your chosen essential oil.
  • Add more coconut oil or baking soda to achieve your desired consistency.

 

I ended up adding one extra tablespoon of coconut oil to get the consistency I wanted.  One thing I found interesting was that it looked powdery still but when I felt it, it was actually moist.  When making your own  make sure to touch it before adding more of any of the ingredients. 

The End Result

I absolutely love this deodorant.  I put it in a small glass jar which I keep in my medicine cabinet.  It smells great and inhibits the sweat.  Plus, the oil has a moisturizing effect which prevents my underarms from becoming dry.  I used tea tree oil which made it smell even better.  Give it a try and let me know what you think!

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=90e897f6d2&view=att&th=13d333b19784713c&attid=0.1&disp=inline&realattid=1428542335091736576-1&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_7GK7T1ZehcSHdFR-ctdQa&sadet=1362364378693&sads=bdJrEKwZBTIfVFGrMtSx1ZNkh_8&sadssc=1

 

One Response to “Coconut Oil Deodorant”

  1. I have been using my homemade deodorant for several weeks now and I just wanted to follow up and let everyone know it works great! I have had no issues with it staining my clothes and in my opinion it works better than anything I have ever bought.


Leave a Reply

